Pacific Crest Trail 2017!

Hello to any followers who may still be following this blog after my long absence, and greetings to new followers who will be following my journey on the Pacific Crest Trail this year. 

In 2016 I stopped blogging and instead spent my free time backpacking and planning my Pacific Crest Trail thru-hike. I stopped taking antibiotics for Lyme disease and Bartonella in October and am thrilled to report that I haven’t had a relapse. I continued backpacking in every month of the year, and as of today have backpacked 27 months in a row. The biggest news, of course, is that I’m taking a leave of absence from my job and hiking the Pacific Crest Trail this year! 

I’m excited about the adventure to come, and I’m grateful to have made it this far. Recently, when asked to give a short autobiography at work, I found myself saying, “Lyme disease survivor.” My struggle with this disease is now part of my identity. Near the beginning of the struggle, when I was so sick my doctor put me on disability leave, I decided that in order to conquer the disease, I would hike the Pacific Crest Trail. Working toward this goal gave me the inspiration and determination to fight my way back to health, one step (literally) at a time. 

I intend to post updates from the trail for family, friends, and followers, but I’m not fond of the Word Press app and may decide to use another platform. If so, I’ll post a link to the new site. 
Thank you for following! 

2 thoughts on “Pacific Crest Trail 2017!

  1. Hi there, I recently stumbled upon your blog. (I live in the Sierra foothills.) I was diagnosed with Lyme in January and am an avid rock climber, runner, and hiker/backpacker. I’m still figuring out what this means for me and the goals I’m trying to pursue. I’ve been searching for stories of other outdoors people who have been able to push through to the other side of this disease and continue pursuing their goals and dreams. Thanks for sharing your experiences… I know it’s not an easy thing to do. And best of luck on the PCT! I have a permit to hike the JMT this September… crossing my fingers I’m up for it.

    Like

    • Hi Gina, I wish you a speedy recovery. Battling Lyme is life-changing experience (at least for me). As you probably realized, I live in the Sierra foothills too. I’m leaving soon for my hike, but I’m always happy to answer questions and share more of my experience recovering from Lyme, so please don’t hesitate to ask. Congratulations on your JMT permit! I’m convinced that having a big hiking goal was a major factor in my recovery. Best wishes!

      Like

Leave a comment