A Week’s Worth of Cooking 

Every Sunday I spend hours in my tiny kitchen preparing batches of food: a week’s worth of breakfasts and lunches, made in advance and ready to go. Adhering to the autoimmune paleo protocol means I can’t buy pre-made or packaged foods from the grocery store. I make every meal from scratch, every week.

My menu for this week:

Breakfast: turkey patties with cinnamon and ginger and a side of sauerkraut. I have never felt inspired to make my own sauerkraut. I buy the Sonoma Brinery brand at my food co-op because it is inexpensive, tastes great, and it much easier than making my own.

Turkey patties and sauerkraut.
Turkey patties and sauerkraut.

Mid-morning snack: morning glory cookies, with sweet potato instead of plantain, and with extra cinnamon and powdered ginger for a little more spice. 

IMG_8064
Morning glory cookies.

Lunch: grated yam and grass-fed ground beef, with a side of steamed broccoli and carrots. No spices, just a little sea salt. 

Grated yam, ground beef, carrots, and broccoli.
Grated yam, ground beef, carrots, and broccoli.

Dinner: California rolls with sweet potato “rice,” avocado, grated carrot, cucumber, bay shrimp, and coconut aminos. I made a large batch of rice, enough for five meals, and will slice up the veggies fresh each evening.

sushi
California rolls with coconut aminos for dipping.

Dessert: strawberry-blueberry pie. I used Mickey Trescott’s crust recipe and filled it with fresh organic strawberries and blueberries. I purposely made a little extra crust and created a crumble top by mixing the extra crust with coconut sugar and sprinkling it on top of the pie. We’re supposed to minimize sugar intake while following the autoimmune protocol, but sometimes you just need some dessert!

Strawberry-blueberry pie with a crumble on top.
Strawberry-blueberry pie with a crumble on top.

Yes, cooking this way is exhausting – and expensive. But it is so worth it. I converted to the autoimmune paleo diet on May 17, 2014. I believe that this diet has played an important part in my healing process. While it is not a cure, it has greatly contributed toward my well-being. I cannot imagine ever returning to a standard American diet.

Leave a Reply

