Welcome to my blog!

I started this blog to share my experiences with those who are struggling with Lyme disease or another chronic illness, with those who have a loved one struggling with illness, or those who may be interested in my story. I have found inspiration from reading blogs on a variety of topics, and I hope my journey can serve as an inspiration to others.

Lyme disease is a devastating, life altering disease. I was diagnosed with Lyme in June 2014 after experiencing years of unexplained illness. I was also diagnosed with Hashimoto’s thyroid disease (November 2013), but my health continued to deteriorate despite treatment for my hypothyroid condition.

As a wildlife biologist and an avid hiker/backpacker I am exposed to ticks on a regular basis. I suspected that Lyme was the cause of my symptoms, so I sought out a Lyme literate physician. This doctor not only diagnosed me with Lyme disease but uncovered a slew of vitamin and mineral deficiencies as well as food allergies. Treatment is ongoing, in the form of antibiotics and various supplements.

I look forward to making a full recovery and fulfilling my dream of thru-hiking the Pacific Crest Trail. This blog will record my journey.

Leave a Reply

